The gift of giving

Here we sit all cozy in our home. I have a pot roast cooking. The house smells yummy. It is rainy outside and everyone is watching football. Not bad for a Sunday afternoon.

The phone rings and it my BFF we always do a Christmas dinner with a group of friends. We all lived on the same street as our kids grew. We all moved within the last few years. Most of us are local so we hang out a lot, go to NASCAR have parties and enjoy each others company. Lovely…

The last few years instead of exchanging gifts with them we donated in their names to charity. Most of us loved it, some of us were on the fence, hey who does not want another wine glass. Really I need them I break a few here and there. Last year we talked about sending a soldier we knew a box of things. Yeah I love that idea! Then the year passed everyone got busy . Life…

Ok now I go into get ur done mode, cuz I know what is gonna come up next. It won’t make it on time. I did my homework and we had time. Yeah!!! So the next day we headed out to the store to shop.

Ok that was in the summer, luckily no one was on the road. Girls gotta shop. Our good friends son-in-law is serving in Afghanistan. We were able to get a list of things he could use and share with his unit. That was huge help. We went to the Dollar Store, Ross, Micheals, Home Goods and Target. Things we put in the box were items we all take for granted. Baby wipes, socks, note cards, razors, instant coffee drinks, beef jerky, pens, chap stick, hard candies. Kinda strange to think these guys risk their life for our freedom and that is all they want. We also sent them a whole case of girls scout cookies that was not on the list.

We rushed home after having a nice lunch took time to chat, again I felt a little sad all the things they missed from home were so small. Anyway , I packed the boxes, we sent two and sent them priority mail. I had my grand kiddos color some pictures one day and they went to town. I made a book with all their picture (a few may needed explaining) so I wrote a note on it. The kids are between three and nine mostly girls, my grandson helped too. It is cute. I topped the box off with a personal note thanking Cory for his service and wishing him a happy holiday. The boxes hit the post office yesterday and it felt so nice.

Tis the season for giving so if you have it in you, share it with someone who is in need, or just thank some one special. I believe in Santa, Pay it forward it feels great.

About oursweetlifetogether

married to my high school sweet heart for 35 yrs, three children and nine grandchildren. hint child bride, we love our dog mollie. i enjoy cooking, the outdoors,crafts blahh blahh blahh.I love life. i guess that is why we live in a little canyon in the mts. i have a crazy life that i love. hold grab a glass enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family life and beyond, friend time, grandkids, Military and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The gift of giving

  1. Chasing Joy says:

    I just donated some things today to go in gift boxes for our service men and women overseas. It does make you feel good to give. Come celebrate #100actsofjoy with me. We are trying to do 100 charitable things (time or dontions) in the name of the holidays.

  2. Great ideas. I love when a friend or family member makes a charitable gift in my name. It’s so much more meaningful than some of the “stuff” you receive at the Holidays. There are so many who need for some much more basic items.

    • You are so right it was nice to do a nice thing for someone. Acts of kindness go a long way. Our soldier got his packages and shared with friends. That is what the holidays are about got me. Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

